Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is one of the two policy-making bodies of the IAEA, along with the annual General Conference of IAEA Member States.

The Board examines and makes recommendations to the General Conference on the IAEA's financial statements, programme and budget. It considers applications for membership, approves safeguards agreements and the publication of the IAEA's safety standards. It also appoints the Director General of the IAEA, with the approval of the General Conference. 

The Board generally meets five times per year: in March and June, twice in September (before and after the General Conference) and in November.

Board Members for 2021-2022

The 35 Board Members for 2021-2022 are Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Burundi, Canada, China, Colombia, the Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Ireland, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Libya, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, the Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America and Viet Nam.

Officers of the Board

The Chair of the Board for 2021-2022 is Ambassador Shin Chae-Hyun, the Governor from the Republic of Korea.

He succeeds Ambassador Heidi Hulan, the Governor from Canada.

The Vice-Chairs are Ambassador Miguel Camilo Ruíz, the Governor from Colombia, and Ambassador Dominika Anna Krois, the Governor from Poland.

Stay in touch